↑ Return to Our Team


An Introduction to the Governing Body by Mr Peter Martin, Chair of Governors

brewers_hall“When Dame Alice Owen founded her school in 1613 she entrusted the administration of the school and its endowment to the Worshipful Company of Brewers which, for nearly four centuries as Trustee of the Dame Alice Owen Foundation, has supported and encouraged the school. Throughout the school’s history many members of the Livery have served with distinction on the Governing Body, often as Chairmen.

I myself was a student at the school in Islington during the 60s, and both my sons have also been students at the school. I was asked to become a Foundation governor in 2001, and became Chair in September 2009. We have been fortunate during that time to have a consistently strong teaching and support staff, well led by consecutive Heads and their Senior Leadership Teams, The school has a proud record for its high academic standards, and for its extra curricular activities which give students a wide range of opportunities. It was judged ‘outstanding” in every respect in its latest Ofsted inspection in May 2009 and produced excellent results at both A Level and GCSE in 2009.

The Trustee supports the school financially by prize_giving_2010providing funds to help maintain buildings and equipment over and above those normally available at a Comprehensive school. The Trustee also supports staff and students in undertaking a wide range of extracurricular activities, including overseas educational and sporting visits. The Master and Wardens, as representatives of the Trustee , make an annual visit to the school in September; and the Master attends the prize giving ceremony known as ‘Visitation’ in July.”

The Composition and Role of the Governing Body

flagThe Governing Body comprises 13 Foundation Governors, 3 elected parent Governors’ 2 elected teacher Governors, 1 elected non–teaching staff Governor and the Head.  The Governing Body may also appoint from time to time one or more co-opted Governors to assist and advise them in their work. Co-opted Governors have full voting rights.

The Worshipful Company of Brewers, as Trustee of the Dame Alice Owen Foundation endorse the appointment of Foundation Governors as recommended by the chair.  Currently 3 Foundation Governors are liverymen of the Worshipful Company of Brewers; the remainder comprise parents, ex parents, old Owenians and a number of specialists.  The Governing Body currently includes amongst its number an accountant, a lawyer, a banker, scientists, educationalists, a civil engineer as well as brewers, most of whom hold, or have held senior positions in their professions, industry or commerce.

The full Governing Body normally meets once per term, unless there is a special requirement for an additional meeting.  In addition there are 5 Governing Body Committees covering Finance, Personnel and Remuneration, Admissions, Facilities Management and Curriculum.  Each Committee meets termly prior to the termly meeting of the Full Governing Body.  All Governors serve on a minimum of two committees and receive minutes of all committee meetings.

List of Governors (as of September 2017)

Vice Chairman
Mr Peter Martin MA ACIB
Mr Des O’Flanagan BSc (Hons) MCMI
Governors Mr Nick Barnes CFA BSc (Econ)
Mr Tim Bonham
Mr Colin Chick MSc MBA FICE
Mrs Monique Choudhuri MITOL MLPI
Mr Richard Fuller
Mr Seamus Gillen BA (Hons) MBA FCIS
Mr Stephen Goodyear
Mrs Sandra Huckle BSc (Hons) FCA
Mr Sikander Khan
Cllr Peter Knell
Mrs Hannah Nemko BA Me Lettres
Mr Jonathan Robinson MA
Mr Charles M Tracy BA (Hons) MS
Mrs Jackie Tyler MA
Mr Paul Wells
Mr Kevin Whelan BEd
Clerk Colonel Michael O’Dwyer OBE
Assistant Clerk TBA

Governors’ secure area – Governors please log in