Return to About Us

Our History

School History

Dame Alice Owen’s Legacy

Dame Alice Owen’s School has a long and distinguished history dating back to the foundation in 1613 and we have maintained many unique traditions from that time, such as the giving of a small amount of ‘beer money’ to every pupil (see below) and the school’s long standing close association with …

School History Book

“Dame Alice Owen’s School – A History 1613-2013”

As part of our 400th anniversary celebrations, a new historical publication (limited edition) was made available in November 2012, written by Gareth Randall, Assistant Head at Owen’s until 2006, who then retired to become a priest in an Anglican Church in France. This beautiful hardback edition …

Headteachers

Potters Bar School The Angel, Islington School The Angel, Islington – Girls’ School The Angel, Islington – Boys’ School Masters of the School 1613-1840 William Leske 1613-1614 Resigned John Hewes 1614-1617 Resigned Mr Jones 1617-1620 Resigned Mr Lymer 1620-1624 Died in office John Weston 1624 Locum Tenens John Jorden (Jowden) 1624-1626 Resigned Nathaniel Bate 1626-1628 …

War Memorials

Dame Alice Owen’s School World War 1 Memorial

1914-1919 SCHOLAE OWENIANAE ALUMNOS ALUMNI SALVTANT Translation: “We salute the alumni of Owen’s School”

Our First World War Memorial lists 170 names of former students who attended our original Owen’s Boys’ School in Islington and died in the service of our Country between 1914-1919.

Old Owenians …

Building Programme

Since our original Islington Schools moved to Potters Bar between 1973 & 1976 to secure the future of the school (which was opened by HRH Princess Anne on 8th June 1976), we have continued to improve our facilities.

New buildings added to our site since 1973:

Edinburgh Centre (Library, Information Technology and Physics, opened by …